HomeROLEXQuantum Racing Crowned Rolex TP52 World Champions

Quantum Racing Crowned Rolex TP52 World Champions

Quantum Racing Crowned Rolex TP52 World Champions As Cascais Rewards Consistency

Cascais remains one of the most rewarding venues for the Quantum Racing team as Doug DeVos’ US flagged crew today lifted the 2022Rolex TP52 World Championship  title, their third back-to back regatta win on the Atlantic waters off the Portuguese coast.

And while it is the Quantum Racing’s fourth world title achieved during the ten year history of the 52 SUPER SERIES, and their second ‘worlds’ win in Cascais, this 2022 championship is special to tactician Terry Hutchinson and the whole crew as it is the first won with talismanic owner-driver DeVos on the helm.

After four days of precision positioning and taxing tactics on an unusually – for Cascais – open, light winds race arena, finally the NW’ly trade winds came pumping down the race track at 20-22 knots and the surf built to offer the brisk racing conditions which are so sought after by the nine boat fleet.

Quantum Racing started the day with a three points lead over nearest rivals, Harm Müller-Spreer’s Platoon. And while the German team started better in both races and seemed set to take the fight to the Americans, each times the new champions prevailed. On the first upwind they broke Platoon’s cover and went on to win while Platoon were penalized for a rules infringement.

On the second breezy windward-leeward Quantum Racing were ahead after a scrappy first upwind saw both title challengers deep at the first turn. But from that point onwards Quantum Racing just need to cover their rivals to win– as victorious, champagne soaked tactician Hutchinson smiled on the dock in Cascais by,  ‘keeping ourselves between the man and the hoop’.

Quantum Racing win by seven points ahead of Platoon and eight ahead of Andy Soriano’s on-song Alegre, which had a solid week finishing strongly to end up on the podium, as they also did at the 2018 Rolex TP52 World Championship on these waters when Quantum Racing also triumphed. The champions’ margin is a meaningful one given how incredibly close this class is at the moment, but wins and losses – especially upwind – were often down to metres, or fractions of a metre.

Quantum Racing maintain an ‘even years’ pattern, lifting the Rolex TP52 World Championship title in 2014, 2016, 2018 and now 2022. The 2020 event planned for South Africa had to be cancelled. Other winners have been Platoon in 2017 and 2019, Azzurra in 2015 in Cascais, Ràn won in 2013 in Miami and in 2021 it was Sled.

Platoon’s trimmer Ross Halcrow paid a warm tribute to the new champions who succeed

Rolex TP52 World Championship Cascais 2022 Final standings

1. Quantum Racing (USA) (Doug DeVos) (2,2,2,3,3,6,2,6,1,6) 33 pts
2. Platoon (GER) (Harm Müller-Spreer) (5,3,4,1,6,4,5,1,4,7) 40 pts.
3. Alegre (GBR) (Andrés Soriano) (1,8,1,9,5,1,7,4,2,3) 41 pts.
4. Phoenix (RSA) (Toni Norris) (4,4,5,4,1,8,3,5,3,5) 42 pts.
5. Sled (USA) (Takashi Okura) (8,1,8,5,8,3,1,3,5,2) 44 pts.
6. Provezza (TUR) (Ergin Imre) (6,5,9,7,2,7,8,2,7,1) 54 pts
7. Vayu (THA) (Tom y Kevin Whitcraft) (3,6,3,2,4,2,9,7,9,9) 54 pts
8. Interlodge (USA) (Austin Fragomen) (7,9,7,8,7,9,6,8,6,4) 71 pts.
9. Gladiator (GBR) (Tony Langley) (9,7,6,6,9,5,4,9,8,8) (2) 73 pts.

52 SUPER SERIES 2022 Series standings after two regattas
1. Quantum Racing (USA) (Doug DeVos) 55 pts.
2. Platoon (GER) (Harm Müller-Spreer) 66 pts.
3. Phoenix (RSA) (Toni Norris) 69 pts.
4. Alegre (GBR) (Andrés Soriano) 84 pts.
5. Sled (USA) (Takashi Okura) 87.5 pts.
6. Vayu (THA) (Tom y Kevin Whitcraft) 99 pts.
7. Interlodge (USA) (Austin Fragomen) 110 pts.
8. Provezza (TUR) (Ergin Imre) 115 pts.
9. Gladiator (GBR) (Tony Langley) 133 pts.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com