HomeINTERESTCape Horn Hall of Fame 2024 - Nominations open

Cape Horn Hall of Fame 2024 – Nominations open

True to its tradition of hosting world-famous sailors, the town of Les Sables d’Olonne, the global capital of single-handed ocean racing, is now home to the International Association of Cape Horners Cape Horn Hall of Fame.

Nominations have opened for six more famous Cape Horners to be inducted into the IACH Cape Horn Hall of Fame.

This follows the inclusion of Dame Ellen MacArthur, Grant Dalton – New Zealand, Skip Novak – USA and Jeanne Socrates – UK, together with Franck Cammas and Michel Desjoyeaux from France.

Their names were added to the Honours Board in September during the opening of a new clubhouse (Le Carre) in Les Sables d’Olonne dedicated to the history of this most famous of all Capes and the sailors who have rounded it.

Organised by the International Association of Cape Horners (IACH), in partnership with Les Sables d’Olonne, the home of single handed sailing, public nominations for next year’s intake closes on 30th April 2024. Anyone can nominate a Cape Horner of note simply by completing the nomination form on the Cape Horners web site capehorners.org

The Chairman of the International Association of Cape Horners, explained the voting process: “The IACH Cape Horn Hall of Fame is administered by the International Association of Cape Horners. Anyone can nominate a verified Cape Horner. The names go before an independent panel of judges chaired by Sir Robin Knox-Johnston and 10-time circumnavigator Jean-Luc van den Heede who select the top 20 names to be voted on by the entire IACH membership to select the top 6 inductees each year.”

Names already honoured on the IACH Cape Horn Hall of Fame:

  • Willem Schouten (1567-1625), Netherlands
  • Jacob Le Maire (1585-1616), Belgium
  • Vice Admiral Robert Fitzroy (1805-1865), UK
  • Capt. Vern Verner Björkfelt (1900-1982), Finland
  • Capt. Thomas Carter (T.C) Fearon (1813 – 1869), USA
  • Capt. Adolph Hauth, Allemagne
  • Capt. Louis Allaire (1880-1949), France
  • Alan Villiers (1903-1982), Australia
  • Vito Dumas (1900-1965), Argentina
  • Marcel Bardiaux (1910-1958), France
  • Sir Francis Chichester (1901-1972), UK
  • Sir Alec Rose (1908-1991), UK
  • Sir Robin Knox-Johnston (1939-), UK
  • Bernard Moitessier (1925-1994), France
  • Sir Chay Blyth (1940-), UK
  • Ramon Carlin (1923-2016), Mexico
  • Éric Tabarly (1931-1998), France
  • Cornelis van Rietschoten (1926-2013), Netherlands
  • Dame Naomi James (1949-), New Zealand
  • Kay Cottee (1954-), Australia
  • Jon Sanders (1939-), Australia
  • Philippe Jeantot (1952-), France
  • Titouan Lamazou (1955-), France
  • Sir Peter Blake (1948-2001), New Zealand
  • Dilip Donde (1967-), India
  • Stan Honey (1955-), USA
  • Dee Caffari (1973-), UK
  • Jean-Luc Van Den Heede (1945-), France
  • Dame Ellen MacArthur (1976 -), UK
  • Grant Dalton (1957 -), New Zealand
  • Skip Novak (1952 -), USA
  • Jeanne Socrates (1942 -), UK
  • Franck Cammas (1972 -), France
  • Michel Desjoyeaux (1965 -), France
- Advertisment -

Most Popular