HomeSAILINGThe 52 Trofeo Princesa Sofía Mallorca by Iberostar concluded

The 52 Trofeo Princesa Sofía Mallorca by Iberostar concluded

The 52 Trofeo Princesa Sofía Mallorca by Iberostar concluded tonight with the prizegiving ceremony, the big finale to an edition of record participation which marked the start of a decisive season in the race for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.


The ceremony was held in Ses Voltes after six days of intense competition on the waters of the Bay of Palma, in an event that was the first qualifying event for the Sailing World Cup, the world Olympic sailing circuit. A total of 976 teams and 1,259 sailors from 66 countries took part in the great Mallorcan regatta, organised by the Club Marítimo San Antonio de la Playa (CMSAP), the Club Nàutic S’Arenal (CNA) and the Real Club Náutico de Palma (RCNP) with the collaboration of the Balearic and Spanish sailing federations, and the support of the main Balearic institutions.

The ceremony was attended by the Director General of Tourism of the Government of the Balearic Islands, Isabel Vidal; the Island Director of Tourism of the Consell de Mallorca, Lucía Escribano, and the Councillor for Tourism of the Palma City Council, Elena Navarro.

The president of the Real Federación Española de Vela, Javier Sanz, and the president of the Federación Balear de Vela, Catalina Darder, also took part, as well as the presidents of the CMSAP and the CNA, Jesús Comas and José Ramón Picó, respectively. 

The star of the event was Singapore’s Max Maeder, who at just 16 years of age was crowned overall winner of the 52 Trofeo Princesa Sofía Mallorca by Iberostar. The sailor of the new Olympic Formula Kite Men class scored ten partial victories in a total of 17 races.

In addition to the rider from Asia lifting the historic top overall trophy which is engraved with the name of all the past winners, the top three in each of the ten participating Olympic classes also received their prizes.

With four golds and two silvers, Great Britain was the top nation at this edition, followed by France and New Zealand, with one gold, one silver and two bronze medals each.
List of winners of the 52 Trofeo Princesa Sofía Mallorca by Iberostar:
470 Mixed: Keiju Okada and Miho Yoshioka (JPN)
49er: Logan Dunning and Oscar Gunn (NZL)
49er FX: Martine Grael and Kahena Kunze (BRA)
Formula Kite Men: Max Maeder (SGP)
Formula Kite Women: Lauriane Nolot (FRA)
ILCA 6: Marit Bouwmeester (NED)
ILCA 7: Michael Beckett (GBR)
iQFOiL Men: Sam Sills (GBR)
iQFOiL Women: Emma Wilson (GBR)
Nacra 17: John Gimson and Anna Burnet (GBR)

Overall Winner
: Max Maeder (SGP)
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :