HomeNEWSNews of the International Association of Cape Horners

News of the International Association of Cape Horners

Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, the first man to sail solo non-stop around the Globe, has accepted the appointment of President of the International Association of Cape Horners. In addition the French solo sailing legend Jean-Luc van den Heede has accepted the appointment of Vice President.

Ashley Manton, Chairman of IACH made the announcement this week during the Association’s annual lunch at Portsmouth UK. “Sir Robin and Jean-Luc are two of the biggest names in ocean sailing and their reputation and standing within the sport reflect the aims of our International Association in celebrating and promoting all those who complete a Cape Horn rounding under sail and meet the IACH eligibility criteria“.

Ashley Manton adds: “Sir Robin has played an active and encouraging role throughout his long period in the Association. Together with Jean-Luc, they have been very supportive in working with the Committee to set up a unique modern-day register of all those who have completed circumnavigations via the three Great Capes – Good Hope, Leeuwin, and Cape Horn and in instigating the IACH Cape Horn Hall of Fame. We very much welcome their expertise and support in encouraging sailors from all backgrounds to take on the challenge of rounding Cape Horn which is recognised by sailors across the Globe as the ‘Everest of sailing’

Nominations open for inductees to the 2023 Cape Horn Hall Fame

Following the successful induction of 28 historic and pioneering names in the first IACH Cape Horn Hall of Fame held in Les Sables d’Olonne in September 2022, nominations have opened to select 6 new inductees in 2023.

Sir Robin Knox-Johnston and Jean-Luc Van Den Heede head a distinguished panel of experts who are looking for names whose achievements in cruising or racing around Cape Horn have become an inspiration to others. Click here to download the form

The selection panel, which also includes Stan Honey – America’s most celebrated ocean navigator, Dee Caffari MBE – who has made 6 circumnavigations and was the first women to sail solo non-stop around the Globe both west-east and east-west, Dilip Donde – the first Indian to complete a solo circumnavigation, and now mentoring other Indian sailors to follow in his wake, and Ashley Manton – Chairman of the Int. Assoc. of Cape Horners who rounded Cape Horn during the 1977/8 Whitbread Round the World Race, will select a short-list from these public nominations for members of IACH to vote on to select the six 2023 inductees.

Later in the year, the Int. Assoc. of Cape Horners and Les Sables d’Olonne, now the Home of the “Cape Horn Hall of Fame”, will hold a ceremony to induct these new names to the Honours board, to keep alive the French port’s enduring connection to Cape Horn.



- Advertisment -

Most Popular

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com