Lipton Challenge Cup trophy


The battle is back on for the coveted Sir Thomas Lipton Challenge Cup trophy.
Twelve yacht club teams from all around the country come to San Diego Yacht Club on October 28-30, 2021 to participate in a highly competitive series while rotating through a matched fleet of J/105s.

From New York to Chicago to California, each team always arrives ready to put up a fight in San Diego Bay.

The trophy, which remains housed at SDYC, was most recently won by Newport Harbor Yacht Club from the 2019 running of the event where skipper Justin Law earned the win. Law is skippering for Newport Harbor Yacht Club again this year. “The talent across all of the teams that participate in the Lipton Cup is off the charts. SDYC does a great job hosting this first-class event,” he said.

This year, the participating skippers/clubs are:

  • Peter Duncan, American Yacht Club
  • David Wood, Balboa Yacht Club
  • Allie Blecher, California Yacht Club
  • Will Curtiss, Chicago Yacht Club
  • Scott Harris, Coronado Yacht Club
  • Shala Youngerman, Cortez Racing Association
  • Keith Ives, Long Beach Yacht Club
  • Jon Singsen, New York Yacht Club
  • Justin Law, Newport Harbor Yacht Club
  • Tyler Sinks, San Diego Yacht Club
  • Nico Landauer, Southwestern Yacht Club
  • Chris Perkins, St. Francis Yacht Club