HomeINTERESTWorld Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Awards 2022

World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Awards 2022

With Just one week remains to submit your nomination for this year’s World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award, the fifth edition of the highest recognition of success in marine sustainability, World Sailing has unveiled its expert panel of judges:

  • Alexandra Rickham, Head of Sustainability at World Sailing, Para Sailor and five-time World Champion. Chair of the Judging Panel.
  • Lungi Mchunu, sailor, Polar Explorer and Citizen Scientist known as the first African female to sail to the Arctic. She’s part of the Homeward Bound alumni and is currently a sailor aboard Maiden’s World Tour raising funds for girls’ education in STEMM. She is also working on completing Pole to Pole and compete in the toughest solo sailing race, the Vendée Globe.
  • Hannah Mills OBE, the most successful female sailor in Olympic history, a double Olympic Champion and two-time World Champion, IOC Sustainability ambassador, SailGP Global Sustainability spokesperson and founder of the Big Plastic Pledge.
  • Cristina Mittermeier, World-renowned conservationist and photographer, co-founder of SeaLegacy, named one of National Geographic’s Adventurers of the Year in 2018, recipient of Smithsonian Conservation Photographer of the Year Award, the Imaging Award for Photographers Who Give Back, Seattle Aquarium’s Sylvia Earle Medal and Travel + Leisure’s Global Vision Award.
  • Bruno Giuntoli, Sustainability Manager at Foiling Week, a World Sailing Special Event, and founder of the Foiling SuMoth Challenge which brings students together from around the world to design, manufacture and sail a sustainable Moth.
  • Todd McGuire, Managing Director of 11th Hour Racing, sponsors of the award.
  • Peter Burling MNZM, one of New Zealand’s most accomplished sailors, Olympic gold medallist, nine-time World Champion, two-time America’s Cup champion, and two-time World Sailor of the Year. Co-founder of the Live Ocean Foundation.

B515843E 1E82 4BE0 B522 FEDA0BD2EB4C

The closing date for submissions is 2 September and the four finalists will be announced on 22 September.

From these finalists, a public vote will help decide the winner which will be announced at the 2022 World Sailing Awards on 25 October 2022, held at the World Sailing Annual Conference in Abu Dhabi. Winners will receive a $10,000 USD prize to further their sustainability programme.

Click here for the 2022 World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award nomination form.

Launched in 2018, the award celebrates the delivery of high-impact, highly replicable sustainability initiatives aligned with the World Sailing Sustainability Agenda 2030. World Sailing and 11th Hour Racing encourage entries from individual sailors, sailing clubs, events, classes, federations, and the wider marine industry, no matter how big or small their programme or initiative may be. Past winners of the award have all demonstrated a commitment to reducing their environmental impact and raising awareness around conservation.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Verification: 1ed1b74db8b57261