HomeINTERESTA Look at the Last Five Winners of the America's Cup

A Look at the Last Five Winners of the America’s Cup

Winners of the America’s Cup

The America’s Cup is comfortably the most prestigious sailing competition in the world. It has been held every four years (or so) since 1851, making it the oldest continually running international sporting event. Every four years, teams from around the world compete to win this prestigious event and take home the coveted America’s Cup trophy, as well as a rumoured$100m in prize money, however, that figure isn’t confirmed.


In recent history, sailing has been passed by when it comes to the planet’s most popular sports. These days, the likes of soccer, football, tennis, and cricket all top the charts when it comes to popularity, but the America’s Cup continues to grow, despite being over 170 years old. It has grown so much so that in the most recent event in 2021, online betting websites such as the sportsbook Bovada were offering betting on the event.


Let’s take a look at what makes the event so popular, and who has taken home the coveted America’s Cup trophy in recent years.

The History of the America’s Cup

The first America’s Cup race was held in 1851 between an American schooner called America and a British yacht named Aurora. No one expected much from the small American vessel, but after an epic three-hour race, she emerged victorious and took home what is now known as the America’s Cup trophy. Since then, teams from all over the world have competed for this historic prize and it remains one of the most sought-after sailing titles in all of sport.

What Makes The America’s Cup So Popular?

While there are many reasons why so many people tune in to watch this legendary competition every four years, here are just a few that stand out:


• Spectacular racing: The boats used in The America’s Cup are some of the fastest and most technologically advanced vessels around.

• Unique locations: Each edition of The America’s Cup is set in a different location—from Auckland, New Zealand to Valencia, Spain—which makes each competition more spectacular than the last.

• Incredible athletes: Sailors competing in The America’s Cup must be among the best athletes in the world—physically fit, mentally agile, and highly skilled when it comes to handling their boats.  


Here are the five most recent winners of the competition.

2021 – Aotearoa (New Zealand) vs Circolo della Vela Sicilia (Italy)

New Zealand’s Aotearoa won a second consecutive title on home turf in March 2021. They defeated Italy’s Circolo dellaVela Sicilia by a score of 7-3 and asserted themselves as the greatest sailing team on the planet. They were skippered by Glenn Ashby and they will have to wait another two years to see if they can successfully make it a hat trick of titles, with the next America’s Cup scheduled to take place in 2025.

2017 – Aotearoa (New Zealand) vs. Golden Gate Yacht Club (USA)

This edition of the tournament was held off the coast of Bermuda and saw Aotearoa, skippered by Glenn Ashby and helmed by Emirates Team New Zealand, face off against America’s Golden Gate Yacht Club, led by James Spithill. In the end, the series was incredibly one-sided and it was the Kiwis that secured a 7-1 victory.

2013 – Golden Gate Yacht Club (USA) vs. Aotearoa (New Zealand)

Held off San Francisco Bay in California, this was the prequel to the one-sided clash in 2017. However, in this installment of the tournament, it was the Americans that came out victorious in a much closer affair.


Golden Gate Yacht Club were once again skippered by James Spithill and they came out with a narrow 9-8 victory after one of the greatest installment of the America’s Cup in modern times.

2010Societe Nautique de Geneve (Switzerland) vs Golden Gate Yacht Club (USA)

Switzerland’s Societe Nautique de Geneve were the reigning champions heading into the 2010 competition, which took place off the coast of Valencia, Spain. Skippered by Ernesto Bertarelli, the Swiss outfit were aiming to become the first team since the San Diego Yacht Club 18 years prior to win three consecutiveAmerica’s Cup trophies.


They were stunned by the Golden Gate Yacht Club, however. James Spithill would spear the American outfit to their first of two back-to-back titles.

2007 – Societe Nautique de Geneve (Switzerland) vs. Aotearoa (New Zealand)

This edition of the competition marked a repeat of the 2007 event. That time, it was the Swiss team that came out on top, and they would do so again off the coast of Valencia. Skippered by American Ed Baird, he repeated the success of previous skipper Russell Coutts by leading his team to victory, however, it was a much closer contest than that of four years prior.

In 2003, Societe Nautique de Geneve won by a score of 5-0, however, they would have to settle for a much narrower 5-2 success this time around.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
%d bloggers like this: