HomeSAILING2021 Star South American Championship - Day 2

2021 Star South American Championship – Day 2

2021 Star South American Championship at Yacht Club de Ilhabela

The Star class event runs until Monday, the 15th, and is organized by the Yacht Club de Ilhabela, Brazil

The opening day of the Star South American Championship at the Yacht Club de Ilhabela, on the northern coast of São Paulo state, saw a fierce battle between the two Olympic athletes Robert Scheidt, here with Ubiratan Matos, and Jorge Zarif, here with Arthur Lopes. Two races were sailed and both won one race. The races were held with light to medium wind on São Sebastião Channel. The competition runs until next Monday, the 15th, and in the fleet there are Olympic, World, South American, and National champions and medalists.

Scheidt and Matos lead the championship because they won the last race of the day, in second Zarif / Lopes and in third place are Pedro Lodovici and Samuel Gonçalves, with eight points.

“It was a slightly atypical day, a northeasterly wind, weak to medium intensity, but we had good and fair races, the Star is a boat that sails well in these conditions, our battle with Jorge and Arthur Lopes was good, they won the first and we ended up winning the second by a little bit, we are very satisfied, I believe we improved a little bit from last week to this one”, said Robert Scheidt, who returns to the Star after a couple of years out.

Another one who returned to the category after a long period was Jorge Zarif. The Finn and Star World Champion won last week the Paulista championship. His partner Arthur Lopes highlighted the balance that should occur until the end of the championship: ”They were good races and well disputed, especially between us and Robert Scheidt. It will be a match-race until the end”.

The sailors will return to Ilhabela tomorrow afternoon from 1 pm for two more races. After the races, the Madalena brewery will offer beer tasting to the participants.

The Star South American Championship has been held since 1952 and the Ilhabela regattas marks the 51 edition. The last edition took place in 2019, in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and the title went to the Tomás Hornos (USA) and Pedro Trouche (Brazil).


Results after 2 races


1 – Robert Scheidt | Ubiratan Matos (Banco do Brasil) – 3 pp

2 – Jorge Zarif | Arthur Lopes (Regatta) – 3 pp

3 – Pedro Lodovici | Samuel Gonçalves (Dom) – 8 pp

4 – Mario de Jesus | Guilherme de Almeida (Vida Bandida) – 9 pp

5 – Daniel De La torre (ARG) | Maurício Bueno (Enrique) – 10 pp

6 – Admar Gonzaga | Ronald Seifert (Maricota) – 10 pp

7 – Robert Rittscher | Marcelo Valland (Born Free) – 16 pp

8 – Antonio Moreira | Arcelio Moreira (Culé) – 16 pp

9 – Marco Szili | Pedro Trouche (Viva la Vida) – 16 pp

10 – Fabiano Vivacqua | Caio Gerassi (Balada) – 19 pp


Full results here.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: